Bus Stop Sermons

On my website, Katrina Pearls, I have embarked on a three-year plan to write a sermon for each Sunday of the Episcopal Lectionary schedule.  Three years covers their Year A, Year B, and Year C coverage of the Old Testament, Epistles, Psalms and Gospels.  In my process, I do an analysis of all the potential reading choices, which I provide (most weeks) as “Notes.”  Following that, I present a sermon that no one will ever hear.  I do this for my own personal pleasure, an aid for my wife (a priest) to use as she sees fit, and for any wandering people interested in certain search terms to read … anonymously.

I am now 1 year (+ or -) into that plan, having begun with the Year C Pentecost season, Proper 6 lessons.  Now we are in Year A Pentecost, and I am up to Proper 14, as of this posting.  I add one per week, often two weeks prior to the date of presentation.

Sometimes the notes are more detailed than the sermons.  My wife asked me, “Could you put the sermon first, with the notes following?”  I answered, “Well, I have no clue what the sermon will be until after I read the lessons and make notes for myself.”  In short, “No.  I cannot put the sermons first.”  It reflects my process.

However, I came up with a solution.  I have created a new Word Press blog that will only be the sermons, without the notes.  I do add pictures to dress them up, most of which are not found posted along with the website presentation.  I also edit and amend each sermon I post on Word Press, so there is a difference between the two.

The blog is called Bus Stop Sermons.  I have begun by posting an old article I wrote in 2008, which I have followed with Year C sermons for Proper 6 and Proper 7.  I welcome anyone who is interested to take a peek and read a sermon or two.

The title comes from how I see the movie Forrest Gump, where Forrest was always at some bus stop, waiting and … if anyone would listen … talking.  I have waited at bus stops in my life; and you usually get there before the bus arrives so you don’t miss the bus.  People gather and wait, but not that much talking goes on.

Maybe there is some point in your busy lives where you have a 10-15 minute wait, before a meeting, waiting for a lunch date, sitting in a doctor’s office, etc.  With all the new electronic gadgetry that makes it easier to wile away that much time, I thought maybe you could take that time to read a sermon from an untrained mind, someone like you who just likes to think about Biblical meaning and imagine how that can relate to modern lives.

Thanks for your time.

About rtippett97

I have an ability to understand Nostradamus in a way that no one else can. I can translate and interpret what he wrote in the letters and verses of The Prophecies, in such a way that can be logically defended. That ability has led me to find that I am able to understand the books of the Holy Bible in ways I never imagined I could. None of this talent has come to me through educational institutions or seminaries, as everything dawns upon me. No one has taught me what I understand. My understanding is purely by divine assistance, which I did not seek to possess, but which I wholeheartedly welcome. Because I do not have this ability to keep to myself, I write freely about those translations and interpretations that come to me, so others may find how they too can understand how Nostradamus was a prophet of God and how Christianity is now failing Christ, just as the children of Israel failed God. Understanding what I have to offer is the only chance this world has for survival. If you would like to ask questions and take the time to seriously discuss this topic, feel free to send me an email or post a comment on one of my blog articles.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

